Jenny & Jerry

Egg Transfer Day!

on May 10, 2013

Big day!

I was instructed to drink 36-40 oz of water 1 hour before our doctor’s appointment, which was at 8:00.  I drank one 22 oz glass at home and another glass on the way to the appointment and was surprised at how comfortable I was when we got to the office.  I drink a lot of water on a daily basis so maybe this wasn’t going to be as bad as I thought. 

Flash forward to 9:30 and I thought I was going to DIE!  They were backed up as the first retrieval of the morning had 43 eggs!  I overheard the doctor say that this is not normal…seriously?!?!  But back to my bladder…the pain was intense and I can honestly say this has been worst part of the whole experience.  I asked Jerry to find out how much longer because I was at the point where I wanted to just call the whole thing off.  Fortunately, I was told I was going back soon and they would scan my bladder to determine if it was too full.  Sure enough, a big, fat, bloated bladder popped up on the screen and I was allowed to empty 1 1/2 cups of fluid.  And Jerry thought I was just being a baby…

We ended up transferring 2 embryos. The first one split into 6 cells and was given a quality grade of B.  The second one split into 4 cells but the quality was better (A). Dr. D said that she had seen plenty of pregnancies from a 4 celled embryo and this little guy might just be a little slow in developing.  I’m still feeling very positive and for right now, I’m pregnant until proven otherwise! 

I’m going to spend the weekend taking it easy and relaxing. It’s supposed to rain all weekend so it’ll be perfect to curl up on the couch and get caught up on movies and clear the DVR.  Next doctor’s appointment is May 17th to check my progesterone level. 

Have a great weekend everyone!  xoxo


5 responses to “Egg Transfer Day!

  1. catwoman73 says:

    Congrats Jenny! You’re PUPO! Are you planning to test early or wait for your beta?

  2. Dad says:

    Jen/Jarrad We are so excited for you guys!!!!Rest up and enjoy the DVR.
    Love
    Dad/Anna

  3. Paul Soscia says:

    Dear Jarrad and Jen,
    I have tried to stay on the sidelines and get me updates from Lois and the blog. Jarrad knows how hard it is for me to do that. I hope the both of you get the well deserved rest you both need this weekend.Jen I cannot even imagine what you have gone through , but you have been very strong and my thoughts are with both of you.
    love you both
    Paul

  4. Kristen Hemmings says:

    Sending good vibes your way! Rest this weekend. Xoxo

Leave a comment