Jenny & Jerry

Stim Cycle – Day 7

on May 2, 2013

Jerry gave me my first shot last night!  We’ve moved onto the thigh b/c my stomach is not happy with all of the poking that’s been going on.  My pants hit right at the injection site and it’s getting uncomfortable.

He was so apprehensive (it was kind of cute) and I just told him to pretend it was a dart.  “Just don’t go slow”.  His aim and tempo were perfect…but once it was in, he just looked at me, like “now what?”.  “You need to push the plunger, honey”.  Oh yeah…I have high hopes for him when it’s time to break out the big guns.

Blood work & Ultrasound were scheduled for 7:30 am…I got there at 7:10.  They try to discourage patients from coming in early (big sign behind the desk…You will be seen in the order of your appointment, not in the order you arrive.) and I get it.  I just never know what the parking situation is going to be like so I prefer to be early.  

Here are today’s results:

  E2 P4 LH Follicles Follicles Follicles Endometrial 
        Right Left Total Lining
               
Required > 1000 < 2.0 < 5.0   5  
               
Friday 4/26 72 0.8 5 8 1 9  
Monday 4/29 189 0.1 2.1 6-7 2 9 4
Wednesday 5/1 436   2.1        
Thursday 5/2 614 0.3   9 2 11  

They have started to size my follicles by mm.  Right now I have:

Right side:  16, 13, 12, 12, 12, 11 and 3 follicles which are less 10  (i.e. 3 < 10)

Left side:  2 <10

They want to see the follicle size > 15 so we’re moving right along.  I have at least 6 that should make the cut so fingers crossed this will get us to retrieval.

New protocol:

Follistim 375 iu
Menopur 300 iu
Dexamethasone 1 mg
New drug Ganirelix  – This is the holding drug which will prevent me from ovulating.  It’s in a prefilled syringe so I don’t have to worry about the dosage.  I’m to take it (via injection) as soon as I get home from work tonight and then every morning at the same time.  Looks like the alarm will be set for 5:30 am all weekend too (sorry Jerry!).

Next appt…bright and early at 6:45 for blood work (no ultrasound) tomorrow morning.

2 responses to “Stim Cycle – Day 7

  1. ecutri says:

    Have fun with the Ganirelix…the needle itself does not hurt but the medication stings like a bi-atch for a few minutes after. Not the most fun thing in the world. Good luck 🙂

  2. catwoman73 says:

    Looks like things are coming along nicely! Just here to cheer you on….

Leave a Reply

